Posted in Knitting

First try at Intarsia ❤💜

So I found out that a good way to knit a pattern without having lots of hanging strings (as with fair isle knitting) is to use a technique called Intarsia. For this I just looked it up on YouTube and used the first two videos to help me get started. And they actually turned out to be super helpful!!! This method is a neat way to knit complex motifs that have frequent colour changes, unlike with fair isle where you normally just alternate 2 colours.

My first attempt (front)

(back)

The pattern here was supposed to be a heart of my own design but as it was my first go it didn’t quite take the form I had hoped for! As you can see the back is almost as neat as the front. 

My second attempt with 3 colours. (Front)
(back)

The back on this one was a lot messier due to having so many loose ends to sew in at the end! However this one is a lot cuter and looks more like a heart. So overall, I recon I’ve made good progress 🙌😁. Just got to watch out for my tension in places as at the moment it is looking a bit uneven. Although I think this might be due to me pulling on the loose ends a bit too much ❣ 

Author:

I'm a third yr college student who loves knitting, crochet and 3D materials. I'm hoping to go on to uni to study architecture. Here you will mainly find most of my knitting projects and other arty stuff ✨🎨

One thought on “First try at Intarsia ❤💜

Leave a Reply

